plum tartlets

image

I don’t know about others but I love shopping in markets and supermarkets looking at seasonal produce and think to myself. What can I make out of it? I often go and look at what I can purchase before deciding what to make… you roughly get an idea, esp you’re like me browsing other blogs and food magazine a lot.. and when I saw some plums in Sainsburys I cannot let them not be on my making list. Ticked.

Plum tartlets
Adapted from Bake for Happy Kids
I managed to yield 5 tartlets using 3 inch tart rings

150g plain flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
a pinch of cinnammon (Original recipe asks for Cardamom!)
1/8 tsp fine sea salt
125g unsalted butter, at room temperature
1 large egg yolks
40g caster sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
lemon zest from 1 lemon
2 fresh plums, pitted and sliced each side into 5 wedges
2 tbsp brown sugar approx – this is just for sprinkling
icing sugar for dusting

Preheat the oven to 160°C or approximately gas mark 3. Lightly butter the tart rings that you are using, place the buttered ring on top of the baking parchment paper. Else if you have something similar size, you can use it instead.

Cream the butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy, add egg yolks, vanilla and lemon zest and mix well until is light in colour.  Then sift the flour, baking powder, cinnammon and salt into the batter. Use reduce speed to mix in the butter mixture until just incorporated. Should look in between crumbs and a batter a like.. Then divide the dough evenly among the tart rings and place the plum slices on top, lightly pressing the slices into the dough and then sprinkle the tops with brown sugar.

Bake for 25 mins or a few extra minutes if needed depending on your oven, until the tartlets look golden and the sugars have caramelized.

Best to served these tarts warm and ideally with creme anglais or custard (in my preference!). I find the tarts are a bit dry on its own.
You can wrap them up and put them into the fridge if you cannot finish it but best to eat within three days.

Leave a Reply

